fermin lopez v girona

FC BARCELONA

VAR audio reveals the uncalled penalty on Fermín López in the Barça-Girona match

Published:31/03/2025 - 11:29h

Updated:31/03/2025 - 14:47h

The VAR audio of the uncalled penalty on Fermín López in the Barça-Girona match raises more questions than answers

Calendar of FC Barcelona

The FC Barcelona, in its most recent match against Girona (4-1), experienced quite questionable officiating from referee Juan Pulido Santana. Fortunately, this aspect did not generate too much controversy thanks to the resounding victory of the culé team, which prevented the controversial decisions against them from affecting the course of a match they dominated from start to finish.

One of the most controversial actions was a possible penalty not called on Fermín López. In the play, the midfielder from Huelva was clearly brought down by the Colombian forward Yáser Asprilla, who, coming from behind and with evident contact, ended up committing a foul on the '16' azulgrana. Initially, referee Pulido Santana called the foul.

However, everything changed after the VAR intervention, led by referee Jorge Figueroa Vázquez. Initially, it was thought that the review aimed to determine whether the foul occurred inside or outside the area. However, the reality was completely different. After evaluating the images, inexplicably, Pulido Santana reversed the decision and awarded an indirect free kick to Girona, claiming a foul by Fermín López.

The VAR audio behind the uncalled penalty on Fermín raises more questions than certainties

Now, recently, the VAR audio regarding this alleged foul by Fermín López has been revealed, which, far from clarifying the controversy, has generated even more doubts about Pulido Santana's decision. In the communication released by the Royal Spanish Football Federation (RFEF), Figueroa Vázquez is heard saying only: "I recommend you come to see the image," without providing a clear reason for his observation.

The audio, which contains a significant segment of absolute silence, also highlights how easily Pulido Santana changed his decision in such a close play. "Let's see, put it on for me. I'm in front of the screen. Okay, indeed, it's the attacker who hits the defender, therefore, I will signal a foul in attack," commented the referee, once again placing FC Barcelona at the center of the refereeing controversy.

Although this action was not decisive in the outcome, it remains as another precedent of refereeing decisions that have harmed the azulgrana team this season. Despite this, Barça continues firmly on its path, setting a truly overwhelming champion's pace.